faculty

Daniel Abebe

Daniel Abebe
Deputy Dean and Harold J. and Marion F. Green Professor of Law, Vice Provost at the University, Walter Mander Teaching Scholar
dabebe@uchicago.edu
773.834.4164

Read Bio

Anjali Adukia

Anjali Adukia
Assistant Professor at Harris School of Public Policy and the College
adukia@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Kathleen Belew

Kathleen Belew
Assistant Professor of US History, Department of History and the College
belew@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Lauren Berlant

Lauren Berlant
George M. Pullman Distinguished Service Professor, Department of English
l-berlant@uchicago.edu
773.702.9760

Read Bio

Jessica Swanston Baker

Jessica Swanston Baker
Assistant Professor, Department of Music
jessicabaker@uchicago.edu
773.702.8484

Read Bio

Philip V. Bohlman

Philip V. Bohlman
Ludwig Rosenberger Distinguished Service Professor in Jewish History, Department of Music; Associate Faculty, Divinity School
boh6@uchicago.edu
773.702.0514

Read Bio

Dain Borges

Dain Borges
Associate Professor, Department of History and the College; Faculty Director of the MA Program in the Social Sciences
dborges@uchicago.edu
773.834.0284

Read Bio

Matthew Briones

Matthew Briones
Associate Professor of American History, Department of History and the College
brio@uchicago.edu
773.702.1590

Read Bio

P. Sean Brotherton

P. Sean Brotherton
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Department of Anthropology
sbrotherton@uchicago.edu
773.702.7724

Read Bio

Larissa Brewer-García

Larissa Brewer-García
Assistant Professor of Latin American Literature, Department of Romance Languages and Literatures
brewergarcia@uchicago.edu
773.834.6403

Read Bio

Chad Broughton

Chad Broughton
Senior Lecturer, Public Policy Studies in the College; Associated Faculty in the Department of Sociology
ceb@uchicago.edu
773.834.9810

Read Bio

Adrienne Brown

Adrienne Brown
Associate Professor, Department of English
adrienneb@uchicago.edu
773.702.0192

Read Bio

Yoonsun Choi

Yoonsun Choi
Professor, School of Social Service Administration
yoonsun@uchicago.edu
773.702.4335

Read Bio

Julie Y. Chu

Julie Y. Chu
Associate Professor and Director of Graduate Studies, Department of Anthropology
juliechu@uchicago.edu
773.702.7708

Read Bio

Cathy Cohen

Cathy Cohen
David and Mary Winton Green Professor, Department of Political Science and the College; Deputy Provost for Graduate Education
cjcohen@uchicago.edu
773.702.8051

Read Bio

Jennifer Cole

Jennifer Cole
Professor and Chair, Department of Comparative Human Development; Chair, Committee on African Studies
jcole@uchicago.edu
773.702.4235

Read Bio

Herschella G. Conyers

Herschella G. Conyers
Clinical Professor of Law, UChicago Law
hconyers@uclaw.uchicago.edu
773.702.9611

Read Bio

Jane Dailey

Jane Dailey
Associate Professor of American History, the Law School, and the College
dailey@uchicago.edu
773.834.2582

Read Bio

Michael C. Dawson

Michael C. Dawson
John D. MacArthur Professor, Department of Political Science and the College
mcdawson@uchicago.edu
773.702.8063

Read Bio

Darby English

Darby English
Carl Darling Buck Professor of Art History and the College
denglish@uchicago.edu
773.702.0262

Read Bio

Matthew Epperson

Matthew Epperson
Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration
mepperson@uchicago.edu
773.702.3243

Read Bio

Curtis J. Evans

Curtis J. Evans
Associate Professor of American Religions and the History of Christianity, Divinity School; the College
cjevans@uchicago.edu
773.702.8200

Read Bio

Allyson Nadia Field

Allyson Nadia Field
Director of Graduate Studies, Associate Professor, Department of Cinema and Media Studies and the College
anfield@uchicago.edu
773.834.7290

Read Bio

Brodwyn Fischer

Brodwyn Fischer
Professor of Latin American History, Department of History and the College; Director, Center for Latin American Studies
bmf@uchicago.edu
773.834.4608

Read Bio

Leah Feldman

Leah Feldman
Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Literature
feldmanl@uchicago.edu
773.702.5809

Read Bio

Eve Ewing

Eve Ewing
Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration

Read Bio

Raymond D. Fogelson

Raymond D. Fogelson
Professor Emeritus, Department of Anthropology, Department of Human Development, and of Social Sciences in the College
rfogelso@uchicago.edu
773.702.7726

Read Bio

Anton Ford

Anton Ford
Associate Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies, Department of Philosophy
antonford@uchicago.edu
773.702.0827

Read Bio

Craig B. Futterman

Craig B. Futterman
Clinical Professor of Law, UChicago Law
futterman@uchicago.edu
773.702.9611

Read Bio

Rachel Galvin

Rachel Galvin
Assistant Professor, Department of English
rachelgalvin@uchicago.edu
773.702.8536

Read Bio

Angela S. García

Angela S. García
Assistant Professor, School of Social Science Administration
agarcia@uchicago.edu
773.702.1763

Read Bio

Marco Garrido

Marco Garrido
Assistant Professor, Department of Sociology
garrido@uchicago.edu
773.702.6515

Read Bio

Theaster Gates

Theaster Gates
Professor, Department of Visual Arts; Director, Arts + Public Life initiative
theaster@uchicago.edu
773.702.8974

Read Bio

Melissa Gilliam

Melissa Gilliam
Ellen H. Block Professor in Health Justice, UChicago Medicine; Vice Provost for Academic Leadership, Advancement, and Diversity
mgilliam@babies.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.6118

Read Bio

Adom Getachew

Adom Getachew
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor, Department of Political Science and the College
agetachew@uchicago.edu
773.834.8723

Read Bio

Yanilda María González

Yanilda María González
Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration
yanilda@uchicago.edu
773.834.5114

Read Bio

Adam Green

Adam Green
Associate Professor of American History, Department of History and the College
apgreen@uchicago.edu
773.702.3282

Read Bio

Ramón A. Gutiérrez

Ramón A. Gutiérrez
Preston & Sterling Morton Distinguished Service Professor in United States History, Department of History and the College
rgutierrez@uchicago.edu
773.702.3286

Read Bio

Angie Heo

Angie Heo
Assistant Professor, Divinity School, the College
heo@uchicago.edu
773.702.1867

Read Bio

Kimberly Kay Hoang

Kimberly Kay Hoang
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology; Director of Global Studies
kayhoang@uchicago.edu
773.834.0579

Read Bio

Thomas C. Holt

Thomas C. Holt
James Westfall Thompson Professor of American and African American History, Department of History and the College
tholt@uchicago.edu
773.702.8389

Read Bio

Dwight N. Hopkins

Dwight N. Hopkins
Alexander Campbell Professor of Theology, Divinity School and the College
dhopkins@uchicago.edu
773.834.0006

Read Bio

Travis A. Jackson

Travis A. Jackson
Associate Professor of Music and the Humanities, Department of Music
travieso@uchicago.edu
773.834.1933

Read Bio

Destin Jenkins

Destin Jenkins
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor of US History and the College
destin@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-3145

Read Bio

Ryan Jobson

Ryan Jobson
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor, Anthropology
rjobson@uchicago.edu
773.834.2507

Read Bio

Waldo E. Johnson, Jr.

Waldo E. Johnson, Jr.
Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration
wejohnso@uchicago.edu
773.834.0400

Read Bio

Damon Jones

Damon Jones
Associate Professor, Harris School of Public Policy
damonjones@uchicago.edu
773.834.0367

Read Bio

Micere Keels

Micere Keels
Associate Professor, Department of Comparative Human Development
micere@uchicago.edu
773.702.1368

Read Bio

Karen E. Kim

Karen E. Kim
Professor of Medicine, UChicago Medicine
kekim@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.3149

Read Bio

Emilio Kourí

Emilio Kourí
Professor, Departments of History, Romance Languages and Literatures, the College; Chair, Department of History
kouri@uchicago.edu
773.702.8395

Read Bio

Loren Kruger

Loren Kruger
Professor, Departments of English, Comparative Literature, Theater and Performance Studies, and the Committee on African Studies
lkruger@uchicago.edu
773.702.7978

Read Bio

Jonathan Levy

Jonathan Levy
Professor of US History, Fundamentals, Social Thought, and the College
jlevy@uchicago.edu
773.702.8369

Read Bio

Agnes Lugo-Ortiz

Agnes Lugo-Ortiz
Associate Professor of Latin American Literature, Department of Romance Languages and Literatures and the College
lugortiz@uchicago.edu
773.702.4283

Read Bio

Omar McRoberts

Omar McRoberts
Associate Professor, Department of Sociology and the College
omcrober@uchicago.edu
773.834.8970

Read Bio

Doriane Miller

Doriane Miller
Associate Professor of Medicine, UChicago Medicine; Director, Center for Community Health and Vitality
doriane.miller@uchospitals.edu
773.702.6840

Read Bio

Reuben Jonathan Miller

Reuben Jonathan Miller
Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration
reuben@uchicago.edu
773.834.5878

Read Bio

Salikoko S. Mufwene

Salikoko S. Mufwene
Frank J. McLoraine Distinguished Service Professor, Department of Linguistics and the College; Committee on African Studies
s-mufwene@uchicago.edu
773.702.8531

Read Bio

Eric Oliver

Eric Oliver
Professor, Department of Political Science
eoliver@uchicago.edu
773.702.9784

Read Bio

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade
Walter L. Palmer Distinguished Service Professor of Medicine and Human Genetics, UChicago Medicine; Director, Global Health
folopade@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.1632

Read Bio

Emily Lynn Osborn

Emily Lynn Osborn
Associate Professor of African History, African Studies, Department of History and the College
eosborn1@uchicago.edu
773.834.9019

Read Bio

Stephan Palmié

Stephan Palmié
Professor, Department of Anthropology and Social Sciences in the College
palmie@uchicago.edu
773.834.1576

Read Bio

Monica Peek

Monica Peek
Associate Professor of Medicine, UChicago Medicine; Associate Director, Chicago Center for Diabetes Translational Research
mpeek@medicine.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.6840

Read Bio

Srikanth

Srikanth "Chicu" Reddy
Associate Professor, Department of English
reddy1@uchicago.edu
773.834.9095

Read Bio

Shantá Robinson

Shantá Robinson
Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration
srrobinson@uchicago.edu
773.834.1669

Read Bio

François G. Richard

François G. Richard
Associate Professor, Department of Anthropology and Social Sciences in the College
fgrichard@uchicago.edu
773.702.7714

Read Bio

Danielle Marion Roper

Danielle Marion Roper
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor in Latin American Literature; Romance Languages and Literature
droper@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Gina Miranda Samuels

Gina Miranda Samuels
Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration
gmiranda@uchicago.edu
773.834.2163

Read Bio

Selwyn O. Rogers

Selwyn O. Rogers
Professor and Chief of Trauma and Acute Care Surgery Director, UChicago Medicine; Founding Director of Trauma Center
srogers@surgery.bsd.uchicago.edu
773.702.2140

Read Bio

Margaret Beale Spencer

Margaret Beale Spencer
Marshall Field IV Professor of Urban Education, Department of Comparative Human Development; Committee on Education
mbspencer@uchicago.edu
773.702.3971

Read Bio

Jacqueline Stewart

Jacqueline Stewart
Professor, Department of Cinema and Media Studies and the College; Director of Arts + Public Life
jacqueline@uchicago.edu
773.834.2458

Read Bio

Christopher Taylor

Christopher Taylor
Associate Professor, Director of Graduate Studies, Department of English
chtaylor@uchicago.edu
773.834.2060

Read Bio

Vu Tran

Vu Tran
Assistant Professor of Practice in the Arts, Director of Undergraduate Studies in Creative Writing, Department of English
vtran@uchicago.edu
773.702.2495

Read Bio

Monica B. Vela

Monica B. Vela
Associate Professor of Medicine; UChicago Medicine; Associate Dean for Multicultural Affairs, Pritzker School of Medicine
mvela@uchicago.edu
773.702.0240

Read Bio

Robert Vargas

Robert Vargas
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor, Director of the Violence, Law, and Politics Lab, Department of Sociology
robvargas@uchicago.edu
773.834.2586

Read Bio

Mareike Winchell

Mareike Winchell
Assistant Professor of Anthropology and of Social Sciences in the College, Department of Anthropology
mareike@uchicago.edu
773.702.6755

Read Bio

Kenneth Warren

Kenneth Warren
Fairfax M. Cone Distinguished Service Professor, Department of English
kwarren@uchicago.edu
773.702.9761

Read Bio

Miwa Yasui

Miwa Yasui
Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration
myasui@uchicago.edu
773.702.5187

Read Bio

Marci A. Ybarra

Marci A. Ybarra
Associate Professor, School of Social Service Administration
mybarra@uchicago.edu
773.702.1134

Read Bio

Leora Auslander

Leora Auslander
Arthur and Joann Rasmussen Professor in Western Civilization in the College; Professor of European Social History
lausland@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-7940

Read Bio

Rene D. Flores

Rene D. Flores
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor, Sociology
renedf@uchicago.edu
773-702-9217

Read Bio

Julie Iromuanya

Julie Iromuanya
Assistant Professor, Department of English
jiromuanya@uchicago.edu
612.338.0125

Read Bio

C. Riley Snorton

C. Riley Snorton
Professor of English Language and Literature
crsnorton@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

John Clegg

John Clegg
Collegiate Assistant Professor, Social Sciences Core: Power, Identity and Resistance
jclegg@uchicago.edu
773-702-3083

Read Bio

Eman Abdelhadi

Eman Abdelhadi
Provost Postdoctoral Fellow, 2019-21; Assistant Professor, Department of Comparative Human Development
abdelhadi@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Angela Garcia

Angela Garcia
Assistant Professor, School of Social Service Administration
agarcia@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Andrew McCall

Andrew McCall
Provost’s Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Political Science
andrewjm@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Aresha Martinez-Cardoso

Aresha Martinez-Cardoso
Instructor, Public Health Researcher; Department of Public Health Sciences
areshamc@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Natalia Bermúdez

Natalia Bermúdez
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow, Instructor; Department of Linguistics
bermudez@uchicago.edu
(773) 702-8522

Read Bio

Ali Kulez

Ali Kulez
Collegiate Assistant Professor, Humanities Core: Readings in World Literature
kulez@uchicago.edu
773-834-8570

Read Bio

Edgar Garcia

Edgar Garcia
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor; Committee on Creative Writing
edgarcia@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Brian Williams

Brian Williams
Associate Professor of Surgery; UChicago Medicine
gmx6477@uchicago.edu
773-834-3524

Read Bio

Joyce Bell

Joyce Bell
Associate Professor; Department of Sociology
jmbell@uchicago.edu
773-702-8962

Read Bio

Natacha Nsabimana

Natacha Nsabimana
Assistant Professor; Department of Anthropology
natachansa@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-5693

Read Bio

Raul Sanchez de la Sierra

Raul Sanchez de la Sierra
Assistant Professor; Harris School of Public Policy
raul@uchicago.edu
917-488-9151

Read Bio

Jonathan Ira Levy

Jonathan Ira Levy
Professor of US History, Fundamentals, Social Thought, and the College
jlevy@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Lindsay J Wright

Lindsay J Wright
Humanities Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow; Department of Music
lindsaywright@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Loren Saulsberry

Loren Saulsberry
Assistant Professor; Department of Public Health Sciences
lsaulsberry@uchicago.edu
Assistant Professor

Read Bio

Gabriel Winant

Gabriel Winant
Assistant Professor; US History and the College
gwinant@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Honey Crawford

Honey Crawford
Harper-Schmidt Fellow Collegiate, Assistant Professor; Department of Theater and Performance Arts
hcrawford@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Noémie Ndiaye

Noémie Ndiaye
Assistant Professor; Department of English
ndiaye@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Patricia Posey
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of Political Science
pdposey@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Emily Masghati

Emily Masghati
Teaching Fellow in the Social Sciences (2019–21); Department of History
emasghati@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Elizabeth Anne Reese

Elizabeth Anne Reese
Harry A. Bigelow Teaching Fellow, Lecturer; UChicago Law
ereese@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Erik Zyman

Erik Zyman
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of Linguistics
ezyman@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

George Adams

George Adams
Humanities Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow; Department of Music
georgeadams@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Christopher Kindell

Christopher Kindell
Teaching Fellow in the Social Sciences (2019–21); Department of History
kindell@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Kara Keeling

Kara Keeling
Associate Professor; Department of Cinema and Media Studies
kkeeling@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Marcia Tan

Marcia Tan
Assistant Professor; Department of Public Health Sciences
mmtan@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Maanasa Raghavan

Maanasa Raghavan
Assistant Professor; Department of Human Genetics
mraghavan@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Salome Skvirsky

Salome Skvirsky
Director of Undergraduate Studies; Assistant Professor; Department of Cinema and Media Studies and the College
skvirsky@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Sarah Jessica Johnson

Sarah Jessica Johnson
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of English
sarahjjohnson@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Sophia Azeb

Sophia Azeb
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of English
sophia.azeb@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Travis Crum

Travis Crum
Harry A. Bigelow Teaching Fellow, Lecturer; UChicago Law
tcrum@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Tina Post

Tina Post
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of English
tinapost@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Mitchell Jackson

Mitchell Jackson
Assistant Professor; Department of English; Committee on Creative Writing
mitchellsjackson@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Kathryn Takabvirwa

Kathryn Takabvirwa
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow 2018-2020; Assistant Professor; Department of Anthropology
ktakabvirwa@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Kaneesha Parsard

Kaneesha Parsard
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow; Department of English
kparsard@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Nicholas Kryczka

Nicholas Kryczka
Teaching Fellow in the Social Sciences (2019–21); Department of History
kryczka@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Rochelle Layla Terman

Rochelle Layla Terman
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow, Assistant Professor; Department of Political Science
rterman@uchicago.edu
773-834-4879

Read Bio

Sonali Thakkar

Sonali Thakkar
Assistant Professor; Department of English; Department of Comparative Literature
sonalit@uchicago.edu
773-834-0390

Read Bio

Sharese King

Sharese King
Neubauer Family Assistant Professor in the Department of Linguistics
sharesek@uchicago.edu
773-702-6897

Read Bio

Geoffrey Wodtke

Geoffrey Wodtke
Associate Professor; Department of Sociology
wodtke@uchicago.edu
773-834-0335

Read Bio

Teresa Montoya

Teresa Montoya
Provost's Postdoctoral Fellow 2019-2021, Assistant Professor; Department of Anthropology
tmontoya@uchicago.edu
773-702-0297

Read Bio

Megan Sullivan

Megan Sullivan
Assistant Professor, Director of Undergraduate Studies; Art History and the College
sullivan1@uchicago.edu
773.702.5126

Read Bio

Julia Phillips

Julia Phillips
Assistant Professor, Department of Visual Arts
juliaphillips@uchicago.edu

Read Bio

Shannon Dawdy

Shannon Dawdy
Professor of Anthropology and of Social Sciences in the College
sdawdy@uchicago.edu
(773) 834-0829

Read Bio

Khalid Lyamlahy

Khalid Lyamlahy
Provost’s Postdoctoral Fellow, Romance Languages & Literatures, and the College
klyamlahy@uchicago.edu
773.834.6198

Read Bio

Hoda El Shakry

Hoda El Shakry
Assistant Professor of Comparative Literature
helshakry@uchicago.edu
773.702.8486

Read Bio

Sharon Fairley

Sharon Fairley
Professor from Practice at the University of Chicago Law School
fairleys@uchicago.edu
773.702.9494

Read Bio

Claudia M. Flores

Claudia M. Flores
Associate Clinical Professor of Law at the University of Chicago Law School; Director of the International Human Rights Clinic
cmflores@uchicago.edu
773.702.9611

Read Bio

Rashauna Johnson

Rashauna Johnson
Associate Professor of History in the Division of Social Sciences
rashauna@uchicago.edu

Read Bio